UPL Awards: Tough competition for Young Player of the Season

From L-R: KCCA FC's Said Kyeyune, Maroons' Darius Ojok and SC Villa's Patrick Kakande will be vying for the Young Player of the year award at the 2022/2023 Pilsner - StarTimes Uganda Premier League Awards

FOOTBALL UPL Awards: Tough competition for Young Player of the Season

Allan Damba 11:12 - 29.06.2023

It is a worthy prize fight as three brilliant and budding players battle it out for the 2022/1013 Pilsner - StarTimes Uganda Premier League Young Player of the Season.

KCCA FC midfielder Saidi Mayanja, SC Villa's Patrick Kakande and Maroons FC's Darius Ojok are vying for the coveted award.

In his maiden season at the MTN Omondi Stadium Lugogo, Mayanja has been the hit everyone anticipated he would.

After overcoming alleged internal disciplinary action from the club earlier in the season, the youngster returned and delivered for the 13-time league champions.

Mayanja managed 19 league appearances out of a possible 28, including featuring in all 14 matches in the second round, managing a goal from central midfield as KCCA finished second with 54 points.

Saidi Mayanja was brilliant last season in the league for KCCA FC

Meanwhile, Villa attacker Kakande was just as impressive in his team's title charge before they eventually finished third with 53 points.

The playmaker is one of the finest dribblers with fine pace and was vital in initiating attacks, managing five assists and two goals.

Patrick Kakande put in a shift for SC Villa everytime he was given a chance

He managed 18 league appearances in his debut season for the record holders.

On the other hand, Ojok was a pillar for the Maroons, especially in their excellent second round of the campaign.

Ojok was integral in the second round of the UPL for Maroons

Out of his overall 15 appearances, the 14 came in the second part of the campaign, with just one from the first, managing three goals.

The second edition of the Pilsner Awards will be held on July 6 at the Kampala Serena Hotel.

All UPL Awards Categories

Coach of the Season: Mohammed Ssenfuma, Alex Isabirye, Jackson Magera

Player of the Season: Milton Karisa, Simon Tamale, Charles Bbaale

Goalkeeper of the Season: Simon Tamale, Hassan Matovu, Nafian Alionzi

Defender of the Season: Warren Buule, Hillary Mukundane, Gift Fred

Midfielder of the Season: Wahab Gadafi, Laban Tibita, Lawrence Bukenya

Young Player of the Season: Saidi Mayanja, Patrick Kakande, Darius Ojok

Other categories include: Topscorer, Most Assists, Players Player of the Season, Coaches' Player of the Season and Best Team of the Season, the Fair Play of the Team, and Platinum Award