Kampala Queens trio guide Kawempe Muslim to second East African Schools gong

Kawempe Muslim players celebrate Hadijah Nandago's goal | USSSA

SCHOOLS FOOTBALL Kampala Queens trio guide Kawempe Muslim to second East African Schools gong

Fred Mwambu 16:08 - 27.08.2023

Kawempe Muslim has dethroned St. Noa Girls to win their third football title in the 2023 Federation of East Africa Secondary Schools Sports Association games.

Shakirah Nyinagahirwa and Hadija Nandago starred as Kawempe Muslim beat Kenya’s Wiyeta Girls 2-0 to win the 2023 East Africa Secondary Schools girls football championship on Sunday inside Huye Stadium in Rwanda.

The two, alongside Samalie Nakacwa, were part of the Kampala Queens squad that was eliminated from the group stages of the CAF women’s Champions League currently on in Njeru.

However, that seemed to be a blessing in disguise as they crossed over to Rwanda to give Kawempe the push needed to overcome the record four-team champion.

Allen Nassaazi had the first real chance of the day, picking up a through pass from Shakirah Nankwanga in the 45th minute before curling in but her effort rattled the crossbar with the keeper well.

Kawempe’s relentless efforts paid three minutes later through Nyinagahirwa, who received a fine defence-splitting pass from Agnes Nabukenya, controlled and fired below the keeper’s dive to put the Ugandans ahead.

Coach Ayub Khalifa made his first change of the game, withdrawing Hadija Babirye for Rebecca Nakato with about five minutes remaining.

The change worked its magic as Nakato and Nandago put pressure on the Kenyan defence, who ceded possession from a short goal kick.

Nandago dribbled through and fired but the keeper initially stopped it; however, the forward followed through with Nakato and tapped it over the line the seal the result.

Kawempe eventually sealed their third trophy after winning it twice in 2012 and 2018, respectively.

This was the second consecutive loss to Wiyeta, who has won it four times after losing to St. Noa Girls last year.

The dethroned champions St. Noa, thumped Amus College 4-0 to settle for bronze.

Related content