Vipers storm third successive final despite defeat to Bright Stars

Abubaker Lawal scored a brace for Vipers in the semifinals (Courtesy)

UGANDA CUP Vipers storm third successive final despite defeat to Bright Stars

Allan Damba 15:27 - 30.05.2023

Two-time Uganda Cup winners Vipers SC hit their third final in succession, despite losing 1-0 to Soltilo Bright Stars FC at Kavumba Recreation Grounds on Tuesday.

In the past two consecutive finals, they've won and lost the Cup once apiece, to BUL FC for both occasions.

Nelson Senkatuka's lone strike on the chilly evening was quite not enough to have Bright Stars glide to their second final in history.

The Venoms had done all the damage in the first leg, as they trounced the Stars 4-0 at the St Mary's Stadium, Kitende, thanks to goals from Yunus Sentamu, Milton Karisa and Bright Anukani brace.

On the evening in Kavumba, it was a slow start to the game as both sides struggled for cohesion and fluidity in the final third.

The hosts, who had started to find their rhythm, nearly scored in the 35th minute but Senkatuka was denied by a superb Fabien Mutombora save.

Five minutes later, Senkatuka wasn't to be denied this time, as he capitalized on a Rogers Torach unintentional error, to slot past Mutombora.

The forward should have had a second with a minute to halftime, but Torach redeemed himself to make a timely interception.

Bright Stars kept the momentum in the second half but couldn't find a way, to eventually settle for the narrow win in their final game of the campaign.

Meanwhile, Vipers are looking for their first ever domestic double, having clinched the Uganda Premier League last Saturday.

They will now battle Police FC in the final this Saturday at the Akii-Bua Memorial Stadium in Lira.

How both teams lined up

Bright Stars: Sanon Mulabi (GK), Amos Muwonge, Denis Omony Kaka, Gideon Etou, Warren Buule, Sharif Nsereko, Alex Mandera, Sam Ssenyonjo, Ibrahim Kasinde, Ashraf Mulindi, Nelson Senkatuka.

Substitutions: Hassan Matovu, Kaziro, Derrick Kiggundu, Innocent Kitimbo, Emmanuel Loki, Okwalinga, Mugume.

Vipers: Fabien Mutombora (GK), Disan Ggaliwango, Ashraf Mandela (c), Hilary Mukundane, Rogers Torach, Nzau Lutumba, Karim Watambala, Bright Anukani, Abdu Lumala, Martin Kizza, Karim Ndugwa.

Substitutions: Denis Kiggundu, Ibrahim Orit, Siraje Ssentamu, Yunus Sentamu, Milton Karisa, Abubakar Lawal, Cromwel Rwothomio.