FUFA Super 8: Bright Stars edge Vipers via penalties in battle for fifth

Bright Stars players celebrate their win against Vipers|Brighht Stars Image

FOOTBALL FUFA Super 8: Bright Stars edge Vipers via penalties in battle for fifth

Allan Damba 20:03 - 29.08.2023

Soltilo Bright Stars FC emerged fifth in the FUFA Super 8 tournament after edging Vipers SC after spot-kicks at the St Mary's Stadium, Kitende.

The Kavumba based outfit won 5-4 after the game had finished 1-1 after 90 minutes.

Gideon Etou netted in the first half for the visitors while new signing Mohammed Salem Ekbad netted the Venoms' leveller.

Salem celebrates his goal against Bright Stars|Vipers Image

It was also the Mauritanian's first goal in a Vipers' shirt since joining the club over a month back.

The game was an almost behind-closed-door encounter with only a handful of spectators, as the hosts came in the wake of their weekend CAF Champions League disappointment where they got eliminated by Jwaneng Galaxy.

Bright Stars' opened their account midway through the first half, with Etou netting off a Denis Omony's corner.

The hosts responded nine minutes after restart, with substitute Salem netting a wonder strike to equalize and leave it levelled till 90.

Karim Watambala, Bright Anukani and Richard Matovu all netted the penalty kicks while Dan Sserunkuma missed for Vipers.

Meanwhile, goalkepeer Derrick Were, Etou, Kato Samuel, Omony and David Kizza all netted Bright Stars' spot-kicks to earn fifth in the Season precursor tournament.

How both teams lined up

Vipers: Denis Kiggundu (GK), Grant Matsiko, Richard Matovu, Abubakar Lawal, Bright Anukani, Martin Kiiza, David Bagoole, Murushid Juuko, Marvin Joseph Youngman, Awesome Fumador, Livingstone Mulondo.

Substitutions: Alfred Mudekereza, Mohammed Salem Ekbad, Dan Sserunkuma, Karim Watambala,.

Bright Stars: Derrick Were (GK), Innocent Kitimbo, Denis Omony Kaka, Gideon Etou, David Kiiza, Ashraf Mulindi, Yassin Mugume, Fiat Cleophus, Noordin Bunjo, Alex Mandela, Warren Buule.

Substitutions: Shannon Mulabi, Kaziro, Alex Nsereko, Kato Samuel, Kokas, Kiggundu.