[Watch] Busoga United condemn KCCA back to their ruins

KCCA have been beaten by Busoga United|KCCA FC IMAGE

UGANDA PREMIER LEAGUE [Watch] Busoga United condemn KCCA back to their ruins

Allan Damba 17:27 - 24.11.2023

With the dim FUFA Technical Center, Njeru floodlights moments away from taking all the limelight, KCCA FC quickly grabbed the opportunity to steal the biggest headlines.

The Kasasiro Boys suffered their sixth defeat of the campaign in just eight games, with Busoga United beating 2-1 on a freezing evening in Jinja.

Ronald Kasamba and Emmanuel Ajo cancelled Dominic Ayella's opener on an evening characterized by rain-induced delays and forced floodlights.

The result marked Abdallah Mubiru's first defeat on what was also his maiden game on his return as KCCA head coach.

Early in the game, KCCA nearly grabbed a ninth-minute lead through Usama Arafat, but his effort unluckily hit the crossbar, following superb work by Etienne Katenga.

Five minutes to the half-hour mark, they eventually broke the deadlock through a well-taken Dominic Ayella shot from the edge of the box.

However, their lead didn't last long as Busoga levelled matters six minutes later, with Ronald Kasamba picking up the pieces from KCCA's poor defending to strike past custodian Derrick Ochan.

Five minutes into the second half, the Kasasiro Boys nearly re-established their lead, but Ayella arrived a moment late to strike a well-laid Katenga cross.

The dim FUFA Technical Center floodlights|KCCA FC IMAGE

With KCCA looking the likelier to score, the hosts struck in the 78th minute through an Ajo effort past Ochan.

Following the result, KCCA stayed in the relegation zone (15th) with four points out of a possible 24 and will host Gaddafi FC in their next game on December 1.

On the same day, ninth-placed Busoga (10 points) will visit SC Villa at the Muteesa II Stadium, Wankulukuku.

How both teams lined up

Busoga United: Michael Lutaaya (GK), Isaac Isinde (C), Aggrey Madoi, Fredrick Ngalo, Ronald Kasamba, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Kenneth Elvis Kibbale, Bashamu Mugwa, Emmanuel Ajo, Isaac Boka Mweru, Jeremy Matata.

Substitutions: Wekiya, Ngore, Sentambule, Mawerere, Ziraba, Odongo, Dhafa, Massa, Ssajjabbi.

KCCA: Derrick Ochan (GK), Bruno Mfulu, Mustafa Mujuzi (c), Saidi Mayanja, Etienne Katenga, Mustafa Kizza, Ashraf Mugume, Usama Arafat, Moses Waiswa, Dominic Ayella, Rogers Atube.

Substitutions: Gui, Joao Gabriel, Hassan Mubiru, James Mubezi, Elvis Mwanje, Joel Emojong, Haruna Lukwago, Emmanuel Sserunjogi.